Eternal Rains finns med på Opeth’s elfte album Pale Communion, som släpps den 26 augusti via Roadrunner Records. Omslaget är än en gång designat av Travis Smith. Mikael Åkerfeldt står själv för producentrollen och mixningen skötte Porcupine Tree’s frontman Steven Wilson.

Åkerfeldt kommenterar albumet: ”Normally when I start writing for a record, I’m a bit nervous. You don’t know whether or not you’re going to be able to come up with something that you like or come up with something at all, to be honest. I was inspired because pretty early on, I wrote a song on the new album — the last song on there, which I ended up being really happy with. So I had some type of guidelines which was more melody, I think.

Heritage (2011) was somewhat deliberately fucked up all over the place because I love fucked-up-all-over-the-place-type music, but I wanted to do something more melodic with this album, so there’s stronger vocal melodies and more melodies overall for this album. I was pretty consistent with that frame of mind throughout the writing process, so at least I had a plan with this album, and I normally don’t, to be honest.”

Låtlista Pale Communion:
1. Eternal Rains Will Come
2. Cusp Of Eternity
3. Moon Above, Sun Below
4. Elysian Woes
5. Goblin
6. River
7. Voice Of Treason
8. Faith In Others