Soulfly har gjort en ny låt tillgänglig, Master Of Savagery. Låten finns med på bandet nionde album Savages som släpps den 4 oktober via bandets nya bolag Nuclear Blast Entertainment. Albumet producerades av Terry Date (Pantera, Deftones, Soundgarden). Som gästsångare på albumet får vi höra bland andra bandets basist Tony CamposMax Cavalera’s son Igor CavaleraClutch’s Neil FallonNapalm Death’s Mitch Harris och Jamie Hanks från I Declare War.

Max Cavalera kommenterar, ”Recording Savages was an amazing experience for me. I was so excited to work with Terry Date, whom I consider to be one of the best producers of all time. He has done some great records and we have been in contact for awhile since he mixed three Soulfly albums in the past. He came to see Soulfly whenever we played in Seattle, and we finally made it work that he would be the producer for Savages.

”My teammates were awesome. Marc (Rizzo, guitar) did some crazy guitar noises and we did a Mars Part Two at the end of El Comegente; it’s very Led Zeppelin-influenced and Marc kicked some ass on it.

”I wrote El Comegente with Tony Campos. It’s in Portuguese and Spanish and it’s about Vargas — a Venezuelan cannibal from the ’80s. He is the Hannibal Lecter of the Andes. Crazy shit!

”I worked for the first time on a full album with my son, Zyon. Before recording the album I first worked closely at home with him in preproduction, and it was great to spend weeks on the songs with Zyon, shaping the sound of the record.

Zyon did a great job and he hits really hard just like his uncle Igor.

”It was amazing recording with my son. A whole record! A dream come true for a father whose life is dedicated to metal. Savages is a celebration of all that.”

Låtlista Savages:
1. Bloodshed (feat. Igor Cavalera)
2. Cannibal Holocaust
3. Fallen (feat. Jamie Hanks)
4. Ayatollah Of Rock ‘N’ Rolla (feat. Neil Fallon)
5. Master Of Savagery
6. Spiral
7. This Is Violence
8. K.C.S. (feat. Mitch Harris)
9. El Comegente (feat. Tony Campos)
10. Soulfliktion
11. Fuck Reality (bonus)
12. Soulfly IX (bonus)